iHola from Mexico!

The first of many emails from Hermana Sutherland!

Wednesday, October 30, 2013:

Hola, todos!

I’ve made it safe and sound to Mexico! It was a really fun journey. The plane rides went really quickly; there was one other sister that accompanied Hermana Nay and I to Phoenix, where we met up with four other elders and seven sisters! The flight into Mexico was pretty fun because I got to talk to a really friendly girl named Areli on the way. Her parents are from Mexico and there are coming to visit their grandmother. We talked a little about the Bible and the Book of Mormon! She hasn’t read either of them, but I hope that after our conversation, she will start to develop an interest in them.

The CCM (Centro de Capacitacion Misional or MTC en Espanol) is beautiful!!! They keep up all the lawns and landscaping really well, and the buildings are very new compared to the rest of the city. Aunt Debbie was completely right about the city going on forever and ever; while in the plane I couldn’t see the end of it in any direction! The buildings are crammed together, and wherever there aren’t buildings, there are all kinds of trees. It is packed!! I was a little surprised at first because all of the buildings are pretty old, some are very run down, they’re all painted brightly, and most have some form of graffiti. It is the most interesting cityscape I’ve ever been in! There was so much to look at while we drove to the CCM; I tried to take a few pictures so that you can get a feel for it. It seriously is the stuff you see in movies. It’s awesome! And the drivers here are crazy!! I couldn’t believe the way people were driving and the way the roads just merge and split and don’t really have lines. Mexico also has this distinct smell that I can’t really describe, but I hope to get used to it soon because (I’ll admit) it is a little gross. It’s kind of dirty, too, but this just makes me really grateful that we have so many regulations in the states. We don’t really think about that (or, at least I don’t) but I will now since I have to be more careful! However, I know they will take good care of us in the CCM. It really is beautiful and clean and I love it already. I can’t wait to get the hang of campus; it is HUGE. I feel like a little freshman at BYU all over again!
I have a nametag now!!! It’s pretty awesome. I already felt like a missionary on the way here, because…. well, all the sisters and elders just kinda stand out in the airport. But now it feels really official! Everyone is really nice and helpful, and all 11 of us that came back from the aeropuerto together are really excited to get going.
Well, that’s all for now. I need to go get checked in to my apartment! There will be more soon. Love you all!
Con mucho amor,
Hermana Sutherland 🙂
Leave a Reply

