Life as a one-week old missionary!

Hola, todos!

 
!No tengo demasiado tiempo how, perdoname!
 
I really don’t have a whole lot of time to write today, forgive me!
Image
 
First major item of business: I am serving exactly where my great grandma Lillian Cluff lived!!
 
Entonces, mom, your hard work in finding those stories about my ancestors did not go to waste. I was reading them yesterday morning (talking with people about my great grandma that lived in the “Mormon Colonies” in Mexico is an excellent talking point, and I decided that I needed to know for sure what I was talking about) and I discovered that in addition to living in Colonia Garcia, my great grandma lived in Pima and Thatcher Arizona. Let me tell you, that was a special moment. I am currently serving in the Gila Valley – an area that covers Pima, Thatcher, Sufford, and Solomon – and it is my very first area. I don’t think that this is a coincidence. 🙂 This was a very timely realization, too, because I had been feeling pretty down about this area this week. It is a tough area because there is so much to cover, so many inactive members, and it’s especially hard to learn Spanish since the majority of the people here speak English. This totally boosted me up and I am so excited to serve here!!! Plus, we had dinner with the branch President yesterday and he told me that they are neighbors to some Cluffs. He’s going to inquire of them for me about my great grandma Lillian. 🙂 How cool is that??? 🙂
 
Anyway, life is pretty much awesome now. The beginning of this week was pretty rough, but things have been working out and I am excited to be here. I love the people so much already – even the man that was Bible bashing us in Spanish last night. They are all just so humble and kind; they are all earnestly searching for the truth. They just are so genuine!! Ahh. I hope that I can be the person that Heavenly Father can trust to bring them the light of the gospel – the light of Christ – so they can know where they need to look to find that truth. Each one of these people is a beloved son or daughter of our Heavenly Father and I just know how much better their lives WILL be with the gospel. This work is hard, but it is oh so good! I love earning my pillow every night, and I hope that I can become the person Heavenly Father needs me to be. 🙂
 
I love you all! Have an amazing week and count down every day for Christmas! It’s the only time of the year when everyone in the world is thinking of Christ at the same time!
 
Con mucho amor,
 
Hermana Sutherland
 
PS – My challenge to you this week is to do as Elder Ballard challenged us in General Conference – get out there and help someone else feel the love of Christ this Christmas season. There are so many ways you can do that, but the key is to have love. 🙂 Pray for opportunities, and try to get out of your comfort zone a little! You will be BLESSED. I know that you will feel the love of Christ more abundantly in your life as you do that. 🙂
Leave a Reply

