!Alexis fue bautizado y confirmado!

!Buenos dias, todos!

 
Tuvimos un bautismo esta semana!!! Y muchos reuniones aqui, en Tucson, y en Phoenix. Era un semana loca! Sin embargo, era lo mejor semana hasta ahora. 🙂
 
We had a baptism this week!!! And many meetings here, in Tucson, and in Phoenix. It was a crazy week! However, it was the best week yet. 🙂
 
That’s right, we Alexis was baptized on Saturday and confirmed on Sunday!!! Oh it was the best thing ever–I couldn’t stop grinning from ear to ear. It really has been such a privilege and blessing to teach her. She is going to be such a good influence for so many people! We’ve already sent off several referrals for the missionaries in Florida to go teach her family, and she is so good at making friends. I’m excited to see the good that will come from this. Oh, and did I mention that she wants to serve a mission and attend BYU-I? 🙂
 
Fun fact: I found a family history book for David Cluff, Sr. here in this family history center last week! It was printed on his 103rd birthday, which happened to be in the year before my great grandma Lillian was born in Colonia Garcia. It’s awesome!! I want to read it so badly… but I just don’t have the time. I’ve also found out that we are distantly related to so many people here, including many of the members. You will be interested to know that we are distantly related to Jorge and Dena Whetten here through the Cluff line, and Logan Whetten is Brother Whetten’s cousin! How crazy is that? 🙂
 
Another fun fact: we got a new car this week; it’s a deep blue 2014 Jeep Compass. We named her Penelope. 🙂
 
As I said earlier, we had a lot of meetings this week — we got to see the President and his wife three times, which is pretty cool! — and they were all so good! I learned so much from all of them about how I can and need to be a better missionary and companion. The multi-mission meeting in Pheonix was awesome; due to a change in his schedule, Elder Holland was not able to come, but we were well fed by a member of the 70, Elder Wright, instead. It was still a fun trip and we learned so much! I kept my eye out for Elder Pollard, who is serving in the Phoenix mission, I believe, but I didn’t see him. I loved going there and having a good time with our zone and being taught by our inspired leaders! Although I was a little disappointed that we wouldn’t be instructed by Elder Holland, I realized that the spirit is the real teacher. It didn’t matter who was speaking; as long as I was listening, the spirit would tell me the things I needed to know at that time. 🙂 And it was a great experience!
 
About an hour an a half after we got home from Phoenix, Alexis was baptized!! Oh, that was just the best thing ever. I don’t even know how to describe it… I don’t even know if I can right now, especially since I’m running out of time again. Just know that I learned through this experience a little more personally how baptism really is my goal as a missionary; it is so vital to our eternal welfare. And now we have her focused on the temple. She’s going to perform baptisms for the dead this Friday! She’s already eager about finding family names and such. 🙂 Do you see why I said it is such a privilege to teach her? She is so golden — so ready! Heavenly Father has been preparing her for something great. I can feel it. 🙂 
 
There were miracles and answered prayers this week! I don’t have much time left, but I would challenge to this week to, if you haven’t already, create a list of people you know that need the gospel in their lives and pray for them every day. Be a true friend to them. Love them. Pray that you will have the courage to bring up the gospel in your conversations with them, and pray that the Holy Ghost will give you the words to say in the moment you need them. Trust in the Holy Ghost to help you. I know that He will!! I have seen it happen time and time again; the more trust I have in Heavenly Father and His promises, the more I am able to act as an instrument in His hands. Become partners with the missionaries in bringing people to the gospel. We need you! 🙂
 
Con mucho amor,
 
Hermana Sutherland 🙂
 
//Pictures to come later!!\\
Leave a Reply

