First Week of My First Transfer!

Querida familia,

 Week one of this transfer is already gone! It’s crazy; I can’t believe that it’s already Pday again!
 
Image
 
This week was great. I only have time to share a few experiences, so here they are. 🙂
 
We were teaching one of our investigators, Jesus, this week. He’s so stubborn, but yet he is so close. We had worked really hard to prepare a lesson for him, to teach him what he really needs, since he’s not progressing anymore. It was pretty difficult to figure that out because he’s been taught everything several times already. Entonces, we decided to teach him about the Atonement. In the course of that lesson, I felt like I needed to jump in and just start talking at one point, and so I did! It was a beautiful experience; because I didn’t take the time to think about what I wanted to say and how I would say it in Spanish before responding to that prompting, my mouth was filled when I opened it. The things that came out were simple, but just what Jesus needed. Through that experience, we discovered what was holding him back. It was pretty special. 🙂
 
We were going to receive this golden family as a referral, and we had a pass off lesson with them, but it turned out that only the mom spoke Spanish and she wanted to go to church in English. We set a baptismal date with her anyway, and then called up the Elders that are going to teach her and her 6 kids. It was pretty disappointing. It’s pretty hard to find Spanish speakers around here, I’m discovering. I went knocking with Sister Jenkins (from Nampa too!) on exchange the other day, and we found so many people that were interested, but only one family spoke Spanish. I’m really excited about them! I guess that way, the victory is so much more sweet; without having to really work for it, I wouldn’t appreciate it as much.
 
Read 1 Nephi 10. This is now one of my favorite chapters in the Book of Mormon! It is beautiful and so clear. I don’t know how much clearer the prophets in the Book of Mormon can add their testimonies of Jesus Christ to those who wrote the Bible. 🙂
 
Con amor,
 
Hermana Sutherland
One thought on “First Week of My First Transfer!

  1. Kylie , that’s an awesome experience with Jesus. U will remember these missionary moments all your life. They shape who u r ! So proud of u !! Shannon

Leave a Reply

