First week in Sahuaro, South Tucson

Hola familia, 
 
I hope you all enjoyed your Easter! Isn’t it great that we have holidays that help remind us to center our lives on Christ? 🙂
 
Image

My last companion and I, Hermana Blackford, visiting the temple one last time before the transfer.

Well, I’ve been here in South Tucson for almost a week now! I love the landscape, the sun (it’s hot!), the Spanish, and the people here. I’m really excited to be here and to come to know and love this area more. Right now things are pretty rough. I don’t know if it’s due to the holiday and transfers or what, but we had kind of a flop week. It seemed like everything we planned fell through! I don’t really know the area or the people very well yet, so I’m not much of a help, but I’m trying hard to catch on to everything. We’re going to keep working to figure out what we can do to serve the people better here. 🙂
 
This morning I was reading in Mosiah 4, and I really liked verses 11 and 12. Here King Benjamin was addressing his people after they’d just experienced a mighty change of heart and had been forgiven of their sins. He explained to them that that one great experience wasn’t enough; they have to continue being repentant throughout their lives. What I really liked was how simple he taught the principle of daily repentance. There are three steps to take:
 
1) Be humble.
2) Sincerely repent every day.
3) Stand firm in your faith in Jesus Christ.
 
When we do our best to do these three things every day, he promises us that we will:
 
1) Obtain charity.
2) Obtain knowledge.
3) Be purified.
 
What amazing blessings! When you get down to it, doing those little things every day simply help us to come to know and become more like our Savior. That’s our ultimate goal! Sometimes I try to complicate things and make myself do more or stress out more about becoming more like Him. But really, all He asks is that we believe in and come to Him.
 
To finish, all this reminded me of Moroni 7:48, “Wherefore, my beloved bretheren, pray unto the Father with all the energy of heart, that ye may be filled with this love, which he hath bestowed upon all who are true followers of his Son, Jesus Christ; that ye may become the sons of God; that when he shall appear we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is; that we may have this hope; that we may be purified even as he is pure. Amen.”
 
How beautiful is that? What it really comes down to is what our desires are. When we truly desire to become more like Him, we will want to get down on our knees and repent and change. Repentance is a message of love and hope. We CAN change! And in so doing, Heavenly Father promises us that we WILL become more like Christ. We can be pure and “retain a remission of our sins”; meaning, we will be in a continual state of repentance and cleanliness. All from taking those first three steps. Don’t you just love this gospel? The more I learn, the more I realize how incredibly simple and merciful it is. 🙂
 
I love you all! Have a wonderful week and think about one specific thing you can work on in the next seven days to become more like Christ.
Image

Making tortillas!

Image

Con amor,
 
Hermana Sutherland 🙂
Leave a Reply

