here’s to another wonderful month: julio!

Hola, familia!

I have time this week to tell you about some of the miracles that happened!! We have been so blessed; I’m not really sure where to start.

I had an incredible experience this week with an answer to prayer. Although it happened this week, it started at the beginning of the transfer when Hermana Magnusson and I used fast Sunday as a way to kick off our time together. Among other things, we prayed and fasted that we would be able to find a family to teach and see baptized. Throughout the five weeks of the transfer, we worked as hard as we could and found a lot of people to teach, but never a full family. Well, the other day I was pondering about all of the investigators I’ve ever taught and seen baptized, and I realized that I’ve never taught or helped an investigating family de puro Espanol (of pure Spanish) become baptized before. That is something I really want to be a part of since I was called as a Spanish missionary! When I shared that thought with Hermana Magnusson, she simply told me, “Well, pray about it!” And so I did. That night I pleaded with my Heavenly Father that He would bless me with the opportunity to teach a family de puro Espanol and help His precious children progress to baptism. The next day we were in the far South part of our area when the zone leaders called and told us they’d found some investigators for us. They’d found a family that had just moved from Mexico a year ago that was interested in the Church!!! They had lived in Phoenix for a short time where they were taught by missionaries and wanted to continue here. What an answer to prayer!!! The Loya family is the sweetest family. There are about seven of them, and I love them!

Well, I’m about out of time already. Just know that I’m having a great time out here in the AZ heat! Yes, Mom, I’m drinking lots of water and wearing sunscreen. 🙂 I love you all! Have a great week!

Con amor,

Hermana Sutherland
or “Chalanga” – girl from DF or Mexico City – as they call me. 🙂

PS – We went down to Nogales last Pday to say bye to Hermana Solomon (she goes home in a few days!) and saw the Mexican border!

Leave a Reply

