Last week in El Rio

Late entry for Nov 4th

Buenas Tardes!

This is going to be my last week in the El Rio branch! I’m really sad to go, but am excited to see where the Lord needs me next. I’ve witnessed so many incredible things happen here among these people, and I’ve grown to love them so much. It is such a joy to see people grow stronger in their conversion of to the gospel of Jesus Christ! I know that there are good things to come in wherever I serve next, and I’m excited to be able to apply everything I’ve learned from the past year of my mission there. I’m ready to run it home!
This week, the spirit has really impressed upon my mind the importance of becoming a missionary throughout our lives. At baptism, we covenanted to take upon us the name of Jesus Christ, keep His commandments, and always remember Him. Therefore, we strive to do what Christ would do and be as He would be. As part of that commission, we have a duty to share with the world the light that He has brought into our lives. When the voice of the Lord came to the people of Alma while in bondage, He covenanted with them to lighten their burdens so that they, in return, would bear witness of Him and His power.
We have the privilege of sharing with everyone else our knowledge of how to access the power of the Atonement! It is available to us through priesthood power that has been restored in this dispensation, and are blessed to know that we can go to the Lord privately in prayer for help. Think of the ways you have felt the incredible, merciful power of the Atonement in your lives! As you ponder on the feelings you have for the Savior, I know your desire and ability to share the gospel naturally and comfortably will increase. You will desire the same blessings for all around you, adn the love that you feel for others will increase.
This week, on Halloween evening when Hermana Gregory and I had to be in the apartment early, we watched a Mormon Message about a boy named Hector whose sharing of the gospel came as naturally as the friendships he made. As a result of his love for others, he was able to help 16 people come to the church within just a few years of being baptized! I wasn’t able to find the link to this message, but Hector’s example inspires me. Just think of all the good YOU could do! 🙂
I love you all! Que tengan una buena semana!
Con amor,
Hermana Sutherland 🙂
Leave a Reply

