I’ve been transferred to…

IMG_0705[1]IMG_0680[1] (1)

Buenos dias!

I have lots of news today! I’ve been transferred, after six months of serving El Rio branch, to the El Dorado branch in East Tucson. I’m going to be serving with Hermana Martin (who is amazing!) for about 2-3 weeks. She’s been here for four transfers already, so six months, and will be leaving early on into the transfer. I’ll be receiving a new missionary, Hermana Hubert, on the 29th of December. We’ll be in a trio for a few days, then the two of us will continue to work here together. I’ll still be serving as a sister training leader with Hermana Lopez, who is also in South Zone. I’m excited for this unique challenge!
I’m so grateful for the time I had to serve in El Rio. I’m trying to figure out how to express in words my feelings for the people there and for the experiences I had – and I don’t know where to begin! It was a privilege to see people progress over that period of time and experience joy as they became more and more converted to the gospel. I know that the Lord had a purpose for me there. I treasure the experiences I had, the lessons I learned, and the love I gained there for those people. I’m grateful for my companion, Hermana Gregory, and the wonderful example she was to me. I’m never going to forget them!
There’s something about change that just helps us learn and grow so much. I love thinking back to a training we received in the Mexico MTC about the “Garden of Eden Pattern” that Sister Pratt gave. I don’t know if I’ve already mentioned this, but essentially, our lives are filled with a series of “gardens of eden.” Every time we go through a significant change in our lives, we are leaving what was once comfortable and familiar and being forced to adapt and change and learn and stretch and grow. I’m grateful for these learning experiences because they help me become more like my Savior. These opportunities allow us to access the power of the atonement in different ways than we’ve ever been able to before!
Les quiero!
Hermana Sutherland 🙂
One thought on “I’ve been transferred to…

  1. Thanks for sharing the pics! I am sure it must be difficult to transfer after you have become so close to everyone. I know that you will love the new area because you will be wonderful were ever you go! I hope you have a wonderful Christmas! I just sent you a card, I am hoping that you will get it since you are moving to a new area. Oh well, I am sure it will catch up to you soon!

    Becky wolery

    *Have a wonderful day!*

    *Becky Wolery*

Leave a Reply

