Hermana Hubert is here!

DSCN4449[1]

Buenas!

Guess who flew in to Tucson this morning? Hermana Hubert did! She’s such a cutie, full of sunshine and the spirit. I’m beyond excited to work with her. She will be an incredible blessing to the work here in El Dorado. I think I may have mentioned this before, but she served in Peru for 5 weeks, got sick, went back to school at BYU for 9 months, and is here now! She’s from Alpine, Utah, and her parents served in the same mission as President Passey. Her dad was actually one of his old mission companions!
Ay, tengo tanto decirles. It was great to hear you all over the phone this Christmas! I’m glad to hear that you are all doing well and enjoying Alaska. I am loving the work over here in East Tucson. Every time I am transferred, I’m sad to leave the people I’d grown to love so much, but I am always blessed to meet and love more wonderful people.
Speaking of which, I’m going to highlight a few of them and their stories so you all can get to know and love these great people here. I’m not sure why I haven’t thought of that before!
The Martinez Family 🙂
This family is incredible! Hermano, Hermana, and Samantha (Sam) Martinez are all converts of the church. They met the missionaries about two years ago when they were having a yard sale. Two elders were walking by and struck up a conversation with Hno. Martinez that lasted about 45 minutes. They invited him to church the next day, and he simply felt like he should. Somehow he managed to convice Hermana Martinez that they should go instead of continue the yardsale. 🙂 They did and continued to attend church every Sunday for the three weeks before they were baptized! Hermana Martinez told me that she knew the Church was true when the Elders came by the next day (that first Monday) and taught their family about the restoration of the gospel. When the missionaries shared the story of the first vision, the spirit filled her with such a powerful feeling that she couldn’t learn fast enough about the rest of the gospel. Sam came along as she saw the example of her parents and felt the spirit at Church. Now, she is preparing for a mission and actually served with Hermana Martin for a whole week while she was lacking a companion. Her parents are serving faithfully in their callings as secretary and young women’s counselor. They continue to share the gospel with people at work and in their normal, day-to-day lives. They are such incredible examples to me and I love them!
Well, that’s all for now. I’m out of time!

Leave a Reply

