I love my Savior.:)

IMG_0908[1] (7)
Buenas tardes!!
 
That buenas tardes is getting a little old… I need to find a new way to say that!
 
Anyway, this week was great. I love it here! Hermana Budge and I are picking up the pace as we’re getting more comfortable with the area and the members. We probably have the best YSA ward ever. Just saying. 🙂 We even had a special passover feast, a “seder,” this Sunday. Bishop Call hosted it and we all had a great time. It was interesting; we had the bitter herbs, the lamb, the matzo, the heroces and everything. It was really interesting, and I learned that I really don’t know very much about the symbolism in the Old Testament!
 
Wasn’t Women’s Conference beautiful? 🙂 I absolutely loved it. Every time we gather together as women of the Church, I always feel like I get to take a step back and admire the beauty, goodness, and divinity that Heavenly Father has instilled in His daughters. There’s a sort of enriching power that you feel to be reminded of His incredible love for us, and I’m reminded of the love I have for the good women in my life. 🙂 Mom, Jenna, and Laurine, even though we’re far away I felt really close to the three of you as I watched that conference. I know that Heavenly Father is preparing His daughters for a great work right now! Now is the time to develop our talents and abilities. 🙂 
 
Now, don’t feel bummed out, Brandon, Alec, and Cory, you’re just as special! There’s something so tender yet powerful about the Priesthood meetings of the Church. I love reading the talks from the Priesthood Session of Conference. They testify to me that you’ve been reserved for this time and that the Lord has placed great trust in you to carry the work forward through faithful service! Each of you are incredible, and I couldn’t be a more proud sister. Heavenly Father is preparing you all for a great work, too. 🙂
 
Mom and Dad, thank you for all that you’ve done to teach the six of us to be faithful and to keep the commandments. The longer I am here, the more I realize how patient and diligent you have been! I’m grateful to call you my parents.
 
This week we’re coming to the close of the Book of Mormon challenge. Do you remember that one? 🙂 I’m really excited; we’re going to have a Zone Conference this week in Sierra Vista and we’re all going to share the things that we’ve learned. 
 
I’ve learned so much from my study of the Book of Mormon! Today, as I was reviewing all of the notes that I’ve taken, I realized that gradually, day by day, Heavenly Father blessed me with a little more knowledge and understanding. Here some; there some. It really could be described as the veil being peeled off a microscopic amount every day. As I was reviewing, it was interesting to see how additional insights came to mind and connected with the things that I had learned months ago. All of the questions and observations I’d made were little tiny seeds that had begun to grow and now are blooming. 🙂
 
There were a few scriptures that I came across this morning that I want to share. Just as a reminder, my theme for the Book of Mormon challenge was the promises made to the Lamanites and the role of the Book of Mormon in the gathering of Israel. The first one is Doctrine and Convenants 3:16-20; the second is Moses 7:62. I don’t have time to put them here, but you should look them up! They are incredible. I love them because they so clearly explain the promises that Heavenly Father made with the Nephite prophets because of their righteous desires, and the way that the truth restored through the Book of Mormon will facilitate the gathering of Israel and prepare the way for our Savior.
 
I just want to leave you with my testimony that I KNOW that Jesus Christ lives, and that He is the Son of God. Because we know He lives, we KNOW that He truly did perform the atonement and that one day, we will return to the presence of God. I love Him, and I know without a doubt that He loves me. And He loves you. 🙂
 
Con amor,
 
Hermana Sutherland
Leave a Reply

