Transfer Curveball!!

Buenas tardes, todos!

So as you can see from the title of my email today, we’ve had some interesting changes happen with transfers. Any guesses? 🙂 Hermana Hubert and I had no idea what to predict coming up to transfers this past week, seeing as we’d already been together for two transfers. We got the call on Friday night that I would be going to pinkwash the YSA 2nd ward in Rincon and East Stake with Hermana Budge! For those of you who aren’t familiar with missionary lingo, “pinkwash” is the word we use when two missionaries leave and two new sister missionaries come into an area when a transfer, or change, happens. Whoa!! I will be speaking English. I’m really excited to do it. I think it’s going to be a fun challenge; I’ve never pinkwashed before, and it’s a blessing because you really have to be on your toes. This is going to help me really work the hardest I can up until the end! And Hermana Budge is a great companion. She’s from the Washington, DC area of Virginia and loves life as a missionary. 🙂
This is also going to be a change. I remember that it hit me, hard, when Hermana Hubert and I were driving to chuch on Sunday that it would be the last time that I attended a Spanish branch for a long, long time. I wouldn’t ever again as a missionary. It was hard – a lot harder than I expected. During the meetings I did my best to soak it all up and just love the people there as hard as I could. When the end of Relief Society came around, Hermana Medina announced that we’d be singing himno #98 – “Para siempre Dios este con vos.” God be with you ’till we meet again. I hadn’t told anyone anything about transfers!! It hit me so hard during that last hymn in Spanish how much I love these people and how much I love being a missionary. I couldn’t sing; I just cried. I am so grateful for the good women in that branch and for my amazing companion who just came and held me. You truly come to love these people so much out here in the mission field; and that love comes through all the service that you do for them. Something that’s a little strange to realize is that I love them in a way they can never love me because of what I’ve done for them. In a sense, that’s a little like the Savior. We love Him immensely; but I believe that we can never quite love Him the way He loves us because of what He did for us.
I’m beyond excited to be serving here in the YSA 2nd ward. It covers the same area as El Dorado, so I already know a lot of the members. There’s even a sister missionary, Sister Rios, that has received a call to serve in Boise, Idaho! (Watch out for her, family! She’s amazing!!! She’s a recent convert. Ask about the story about how she came to know the Book of Mormon is true.) There’s so much work to be done here, and I’m ready to sprint it home like the last stretch of a 5k. I love you all! Have an amazing week!
Leave a Reply

