It’s April 6th… which means it’s Christ’s real birthday! :)

DSCN0176

iSaludos!

Here we are again! I can’t believe that I’m already sitting here, talking about this past week. It went by so quickly!
General Conference was amazing. I think I could talk about all the things I learned for hours, but I really just need to go back through my notes and study the talks again. I’m so excited to go through them again!
I loved General Conference because a lot of my questions and even below-the-surface doubts and fears were addressed. Recently, I’ve been reflecting back on my mission and everything that I’ve done here–all the people I’ve served, loved, and learned from–and all the important lessons I’ve learned. It actually started to stress me out! How could I ever remember all the things that I’ve learned and lived? How will I continue to progress and grow after my mission is over? What goals should I set for myself?
Those thoughts weren’t consuming all of my time, but they were in the back of my mind going in to General Conference. Our Heavenly Father is wonderful, because He blessed me with so much peace during those four sessions. I especially loved how many talks discussed enduring to the end and facing questions and doubts. The Savior really is coming quickly, and the brethren know how we need to prepare ourselves. I was surprised to find that the answers to my worries was quite simple–just put my trust in the Savior, learn of Him, and follow Him. Live His gospel! It never ceases to amaze me how simple this life is; if we will simply seek to do and trust in the Lord’s will, we’ll be “…supported in all [our] trials, and [our] troubles, and [our] afflictions, and shall be lifted up at the last day” (Alma 36:3).
It finally hit me this week that I’m the Lord’s investigator. I’ve heard that idea passed around from time to time as a missionary, but I didn’t realize its significance until I put it into practice! I remember, just a few nights ago, that as I laid in bed after having talked with my Heavenly Father about my day–all the frustrations, joys, failures, worries, and tender mercies that I’d experienced–I asked myself what I would tell an investigator who expressed the same thoughts I just had to my Heavenly Father. As I pondered on that, I realized that I would have told them to focus their efforts on keeping their baptismal covenant and being faithful in the small things. If they did that, they would be blessed and they wouldn’t need to worry. That was my answer! I now know that the Lord will always direct my paths for good as long as I seek Him. He never fails me. 🙂
One interesting experience we had this week was finding Junior. We’d been struggling to find new investigators; it’s pretty hard sometimes in a YSA ward! But we had gone through the area book a few weeks ago, looking for potential investigators. While we were driving to Sierra Vista for our zone conference, I came across the list that we’d made. I felt like we should invite them to come to ultimate frisbee, so I texted them all. The next day, while I was on exchanges with Sister Barton, we received a message back from Junior. He came! He’s from Africa and speaks better French than English and plays soccer professionally for Real Salt Lake. We were able to teach him the restoration right there on the soccer field. It was really special; and he even came to general conference!
I have to go now, but I love you all. Have a wonderful week! 🙂
Con amor,
Hermana Sutherland
Leave a Reply

